Warning: Undefined array key "HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE" in /var/www/minitokyo/www/includes/common.inc.php on line 360 Approaching Manga...how to illustrate it... - Minitokyo

Approaching Manga...how to illustrate it...

page 1 of 1 4 total items

Hopefully I can get accross the idea of what I'm looking for...

As an artist I've long maintained a style that's reminiscent of Bruce Timm's work (certainly not at his level of course) and while I love the style and would like to continue using it, I'm also wanting to cultivate an ability to draw in a more Manga-esque style as well. And in part thanks to the sheer amount of versatility it offers and just because I've always just really enjoyed the unique style.

Anyhow, I'm a little stumped as to where to begin.

I've seen the "How to draw Manga" books, but I'm a little cautious as to how helpful they are in teaching the principles behind the lines. But then again some of you may have used them and been happy with what you were taught within the pages. If that's the case would you reccommend them over another product? Any volumes in particular that were helpful?

Just looking for a good resource, so if anyone's got any suggestions I'm all ears!

Thanks!

Kabukiyasha

Kabukiyasha

Serial flake

The how to draw manga books can be helpful, but you need to pick through them and find the ones that's useful to you, best idea is to borrow them first before you buy.

Signature

I'd also look into "how to draw anatomy" books. The manga drawing books are good, but they teach the variances in style, rather than style itself. They are typically geared towards people who draw people already, who are interested in gaining practicle knowledge of the differences between realistic and manga art styles.