Warning: Undefined array key "HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE" in /var/www/minitokyo/www/includes/common.inc.php on line 360 Lucifer: What do you believe in now? - Minitokyo

Lucifer: What do you believe in now?

page 1 of 1 12 total items

joemighty16

joemighty16

Hope is an optimist

I came across this one quite accidently.

I studied Ancient Near Eastern religions at University and became quite a fan of the god Baal (not the Jewish or Christian version, but the actual one). A few days ago I remembered that in Diablo II's expansion you have to beat Lord Baal. I did a quick search on Baal on Answers.com and noted the reference that Baal is believed (today's popular belief) to be one of the princes of Hell. Then I noted Mephisto (short version of Mephistopheles), also one of Diablo's brothers and also considered a prince of Hell (first mentioned in the 17th cent. and better known in Goethe's Faust).

Then I thought, but what about Lucifer? There is no mention whatsoever to this name in the Bible...its just assumed that this was his name before he rebelled and were kicked out of heaven. His name even means "bringer of light". Satan is more of a definition. Lucifer's his name. (Footnote: In Hebrew, Satan merely means opposer. In Numbers 22:22ff the angel stood as "satan", against Balaam, prompting the donkey to speak).

Anyway, I did the search for Lucifer and got this article. In a nutshel, in Isaiah 14:12, a presumptious king of Babilon was about to have his ass kicked. He thought he was a star. Or more literally, son of the morning star, the planet Venus. In the 4th century this star was known as Lucifer in Latin, bringer of the light, the star before dawn. St. Jerome used this name when he translated the Hebrew into the Latin Vulgate. Unfortunately, because the king was so arrogant, and babilon was the evil city, this connotation stuck to the name. Lucifer, king of the evil city.

So? What do we do now? Does he exist, even though he's the product of a misunderstood passage?