Warning: Undefined array key "HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE" in /var/www/minitokyo/www/includes/common.inc.php on line 360 Is it wrong to learn from or improvise on some of people's art? - Minitokyo

Is it wrong to learn from or improvise on some of people's art?

page 1 of 2 1 2 Next » 26 total items

:sweat:Yes, it appears that someone told me that what i was doing wasn't art. I am self taught and draw in pen. The point is that what i did wasn't even skill. You know those tini pictures in Yu-gi-o cards, drew and even finished some of the drawings. I thought art was all about conveying into art what you see, didn't art have to go through improvisions to give form to new art styles? ;)

merged: 01-28-2007 ~ 04:38pm
I meant "that i was told what i was doing wasn't even skill by a novice"

i dun think it's wrong. i think it takes a certtain level of skill to be able to replicate stuff and all... and if u like that person's art style why shouldn't u try to learn fr it?

speedfreek19

speedfreek19

Belldandy Fanboy

Good artists copy, great artists steal :D

no harm in copying an artists style, cause you will end up putting your own spin on it and thus having your own

Signature Image

No...
even expert artists imitate the style of other but only because they want to improve...
Painters don't paint something out of thin air. They copy the landscapes...they look at trees...same is with those in drawing...even the coolest characters in anime are created from something...you might notice that some a character of one anime might look like another character from another anime...(I.e. Jo from burst angel looks like Rei Ayanami from Evangelion) ^^

cherry12

love,hinata

im inspired by koge-donbo- i recommend her as the queen of chibi illustration.

i also love clamp's illustrations. and especially mary cassatt. there's no law saying u can't be inspired. :)

did i change alittle?