Warning: Undefined array key "HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE" in /var/www/minitokyo/www/includes/common.inc.php on line 360 Changing times pirate games? - Minitokyo

Changing times pirate games?

page 1 of 1 12 total items

When I was really young (18 now) I started playing games at 2- it was the Famicom but most games on it from the shops in HongKong were pirate copies like those "100-in-one" cartridges.
The best time was when the Super Famicom and Floppy Disc System came out! We played some USA games as well that we bought while on hols in hk!
Which were pirated on Floppys (shame on us!)
Of course I dont support pirate anymore now that you can find official USA and Jap games in HK, that is when I go back on hols... phew

But the biggest flaw in pirated games are bad copies and games that lose their save files, especially GB,GBC, GBA games. I still have pirated I bought for the PSone from 8 years ago, like the Crash bandicot 3 in one, which works wonders and is pretty cool.

I noticed over the last 2-3 years, there's a big crackdown on Pirate games, and you can find official unopened games from America and Japan in many of the stores. Despite this, they are stil really cheap by my standards, as HK$300 is around EUR30 in my currency, and in Ireland, games cost EUR60 for the bigger consoles, EUR50 for DS and GBA.
What's it like in other countries in Asia- Singapore, Malasia, Japan, Taiwan, Philipinnes? Just curious! :)

well i live in romania , you wouldnt believe the level of piracy over here , very few people buy originals , but thats becuse people dont have much money , i have a fe though :D

I guess I still support pirate. Prices are too high and some people keep saying it's because of pirate games that cause inflation. But I dont believe them. I suppose I'll find some bargains in HK this year,and not be ripped off by those FAT CATs of the games industry as well as the government. VAT my derriere!